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Throw-ins and the Backcourt 

 Rule 9-9-1 says, “A player shall not be the first to touch the ball 

after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a 

teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt 

before it went to the backcourt.” Another way to state this is that 

in order for a backcourt violation to occur after a throw-in, the 

offending team must attain team control (and player control) on 

the floor in the frontcourt prior to first touching the ball in the 

backcourt. The two following clips are instances where the team 

had not yet established control in the frontcourt, and thus, no 

backcourt violation should have been called.  

 

Clip 1 

Clip 2 

 

When ‘s a “Spot” Not a “Spot”? 

 When it’s a Designated Spot throw-in, of course! CLICK HERE 

to take a little deeper dive into the rules regarding what the book 

calls a “Designated Spot”. Some restrictions and requirements 

according to the rules might surprise some officials that have 

considered  the issue thoroughly either because they haven’t had 

to rule on this situation, or didn’t know they had to rule on it. 

 BONUS QUESTION: What violations can NEVER happen during 

a throw-in? 4-42 NOTE says Traveling and Dribbling violations are 

not in effect. 

 

Working the Angle 

 Some of the hardest calls to get right in basketball are the 

block/charge, those unexpected out-of-bounds call or ruling on the 

“spin-move.” Those are all certainly tough-ones, but one that has 

officials in the 2-Person System struggling to see is on that 

competitive matchup that develops high on the Trail’s primary 

coverage area across the court near the opposite sideline. 

 Because the Lead needs to keep close attention on what’s 

going on in his primary coverage area below the free throw line 

down in the post. For Trail officials that stay near their sideline or 

back near the division line, getting this call right is nearly 

impossible. Officials that understand the proper coverage 

mechanics know that using the “Arc” (NFHS) to develop a proper 

angle on the matchup affords him/her the best look and the best 

opportunity to get the play right. “Running the angle” (as shown in 

the MHSAA diagram below) is a valuable mechanic to be used by 

the Trail in a 2-Person System.  You can also see proper positioning 

for this mechanic by CLICKING HERE. 

Rules Review: A1 has been administered the ball for the first of two free throws. A4 and B5, who are in marked lane spaces, commit 
simultaneous violations prior to A1’s release of the ball. What is the result? 
A. A1’s first free throw is cancelled. 
B. A1 shall attempt both free throws. 
C. Play is resumed with A1’s second free throw. 
D. Play is resumed with an alternating-possession throw-in. 
 
Last Bulletin’s Review: During the free throws following a technical foul, an intentional foul or a flagrant foul, where must the other nine players 
besides the free throw shooter stand? They must stand behind the three-point arc and the free throw line extended. 

Uniformity and Consistency...Play-Calling Proficiency 

https://youtu.be/qVRxIpGQxLY
https://youtu.be/A3ylgWtJRX0
https://youtu.be/bBbhGrX9kOM
https://youtu.be/JwnBBcKNATY

