2017 Baseball Officials Exam for Postseason Tournament Consideration & Answers

1. Courtesy runner (CR1) runs for R1 and later in that same half-inning runs for R2. What is the ruling?
a. lllegal substitution, CR1 is declared out.
b. _lllegal substitution, CR1 is declared out and restricted to dugout/bench.
c. lllegal substitution, CR1 is declared out and ejected.
d. Replace CR1 with CR2 who would run for F2 with no penalty.

2. The count is 2-2 and B1 swings at an inside fastball. As he swings at the pitch, the ball hits his hands on the
bat and the ball rolls toward the pitcher in fair territory. The correct call is....

Fair ball; the ball remains in play.

Foul ball; the batter remains at bat with a 2-2 count.

Hit by pitch; send the batter to first base.

Dead ball; the batter is charged with a strike, and since the count was 2-2, he is declared out.
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3. R1 on first, two outs. The batter hits a pop fly behind the catcher, which is caught for the third out. As the
defense begins to run off the field, the offensive coach appeals to the umpire that the ball was caught with an
illegal glove. The catcher was using a first baseman’s mitt.

The illegal glove is removed from the game.

The illegal glove is removed from the game, however the out stands.
The glove is legal for first base only.

The glove is legal and the out stands.

an oo

4. B1 hits a line drive back at the pitcher. Without touching anyone, the ball hits the pitcher’s rubber and
deflects directly into the 1st base dugout. The correct call is...

a. Foul ball.
b. Ground rule double; put B1 on 2nd base.
c. Ballis dead; award B1 first base.

5. What is the one requirement at the plate meeting all umpires MUST make sure is on every line-up card starting
with the 2017 season?

a. List of players that are ineligible to pitch (ITP) on that day due to the new pitch count rule.
b. List of bats that will be used by that team'’s hitters.
c. List of gloves that will be used by that team'’s fielders.

6. Runner on third base, the pitcher is in the windup position, F1 begins to bring his hands up, as if to begin his
windup, and then steps back off the rubber with his pivot foot. He then throws to third in an attempt to pickoff
R3. Thisis a....

a. Legal play because he threw to third.
Legal play as it does not matter what base he throws toward.

c. Call time out and tell the catcher while cleaning off the plate that the next time his pitcher does that, he
will balk him.

d. Balk



7. With R1 on first and one out, the pitcher comes set but completely ignores R1 as he breaks for and reaches
second before the pitcher starts his pitching motion. F1 then throws a legal pitch to B3 who pops out to F3. After
the pop up | caught, F3 now steps on first base, appealing that R1 did not legally tag up. What is the correct call?

R1 remains at second base.

B3 and R1 are out.

B3 is out and award R1 third base.
B3 is out and bring back R1 to first.
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8. What is a true statement regarding non-wood bats:

a. Non-wood bats are not permitted by rule.
b. In order to be legal, non-wood bats must have the BBCOR certification mark.
c. In order to be legal, non-wood bats must have both the BBCOR and BESR certification marks on them.

9. B1 hits a ground ball to F6 with no runners on base. The base umpire properly moves a couple of steps into
fair territory to rule on the play. F6's throw is wild and goes over the head of F3. Seeing this, B1 makes a wide
turn and runs into the umpire, knocking both B1 and the umpire to the ground. F2, backing up the play, throws
to F3, who tags B1 while he continues to lie on the ground. The correct call is.....

a. Legal play, B1 is out.
B1 is returned to first because of umpire interference.

c. B1is awarded second because that's where he would have advanced had the umpire not been in the
way.

10. R1is on 1st and R2 is on 3rd with one out. B3 hits a fly ball to right field and R1 takes off immediately on
contact. The right fielder makes the catch for the second out while R2 legally tags up and scores. After R2 has
scored, the ball is thrown to first base for the third out, easily putting out R1 who did not legally tag up. How
many runs score on this play?

a. No runs score since R1 was forced out (force play).
b. One run scores as R2 scored before R1 was put out (time play).
c. Neither A or B.

11. R1is on 1st with one out. B3 hits a fly ball to deep right field and R1 takes off immediately on contact. The
right fielder makes a diving catch for the second out while R1 is now scrambling to get back to first base. The
right fielder gets up, and seeing R1 racing back toward first, unleashes a throw that lands over the first base
dugout in dead ball territory. At the time of the throw, R1 is roughly 30 feet from first base. Where is R1 placed?

First base.

Second base.

Third base.
Home....score the run.
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12. The home team is using a designated hitter for the pitcher and the DH is batting in the fourth position in the
lineup. In the seventh inning, because of an injury, the home coach wants the DH to move into the field and play
first base. The coach does not want to change pitchers. The previous first baseman was batting in the seventh
position of the lineup.

a. Legal substitution....allow this change to be made by placing the pitcher in the 7t spot in the order.
b. lllegal substitution....do not allow this change.




13. Count is 0-2 with R3 on third base with 2 outs. The batter swings and misses on a low pitch in the dirt that
gets past the catcher to the backstop. The batter-runner takes off toward first as R3 advances home and scores
before the catcher releases his throw toward first base. The throw to first base just beats the batter-runner and

he is properly called out at first base. How many runs score on this play?

a. No runs score since BR was retired before he reached first base (force play).
b. One run scores as R3 scored before BR was put out (time play).

14. With the bases loaded and one out, B5 hits a ground ball that takes F4 deep into the hole in shallow right
field. F4's only play is at first base, where B5 is retired. On the play, both R2 and R3 score. The defense then
successfully appeals that R2 missed third base.

a. B5 is the second out, which removed the force. While R2’s out is the third out, it is not considered
a force so R3's run counts. This is considered a time play.

B5 is the second out; R2 is the third out so no runs score. This is considered a force play.

Offense coach has the option to take R3's run or R2's out.

d. None of the above.
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15. Who is responsible for making the decision if a single game or first game of a DH should be delayed or
postponed before it starts due to inclement weather?

a. Before the only or first game, both umpires and head coaches of both teams make the decision jointly.
b. Before the only or first game, both umpires make the decision.
c. Before the only or first game, the head coach of the home team makes the decision.

16. The first game of a scheduled DH has been completed. It begins to rain quite hard during the 20-minute
break, and many now wonder if the second game will be delayed or played. Who makes the decision to play,
delay or postpone in this situation?

a. Home team coach.

b. The umpires.

¢. Umpires and both head team coaches, giving special consideration to how far and long the visiting
team'’s bus ride will be to return home.

17. With R1 on first, R3 gets an apparent extra-base-hit. As R1 rounds second, he is obstructed by F6 and
knocked down. Not seeing R1 down, B6 then passes R1. The offensive coach then directs B6 to return to and
stand on second base.

a. Call time out immediately when R1 was obstructed. B6 is not penalized for passing R1. When play has
ceased, the umpires will award whatever bases they believe R1 and B6 would have gained without the
obstruction.

b. Call time immediately when R1 was obstructed. B6 is out for passing R1 but you would award R1 bases
based on the obstruction.

¢. The ball remains live and in play given the incidental contact.

d. Because R1 was obstructed, B6 is not penalized for passing R1. When play has ceased, the umpires
will award whatever bases they believe R1 and B6 would have gained without the obstruction. R1
must be awarded a minimum of one base.




18. R1, score is 1-1, bottom of eighth. Batter has two bunt attempts that go foul. The bunt sign is still on. R1
breaks for second on the pitch but the batter's bunt attempt is a foul pop-up to the right of the plate that is
caught by the catcher. The catcher then throws to first base to easily double up R1 who cannot get back.

a. Allow R1 to return to first without penalty.

b. This is a delayed dead ball.

c. This is a double play.

d. This is not a double play as the ball becomes dead when it is bunted foul on a third strike.

19. R3, one out. R3 is attempting to score on a passed ball. B4 is still standing in the batter's box, even though
there is time for him to move out of the pitcher's way. As the play develops, B4 unintentionally hinders the
catcher's throw to the pitcher who is covering the plate.

a. B4isoutand R3 scores.
b. R3is out and B4 remains at the plate.
c. B4 has a right to remain stationary in the batter's box after the pitch has been caught.

20. Which of the following results in a foul ball?

a. A batted ball strikes the pitcher's rubber and rebounds into B1 who was injured on his swing and
remains in the batter's box.

A batted ball strikes a runner in fair territory and then goes to foul ground.

A batted ball comes to rest on top of the plate.

d. A batted ball strikes third base and goes into foul territory.
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21. R1, not stealing. The batter swings at an inside pitch and the ball hits his hands during the swing. The ball
rolls toward the pitcher in fair ground. The pitcher throws the BR out at first base.

a. Thisis a strike and the ball is dead but any runner could advance if they were stealing on the pitch.

b. This play is ruled a fair ball and the results stand.

c. This is a strike, the ball is dead immediately and all runners must return to the base they had
attained at the time of the pitch.

d. This is considered a swing, strike three, the catcher did not catch the pitch but the batter is out because
the pitcher was able to throw out the BR before he could reach first base.

e. This is considered a foul ball and the batter would continue to bat.

22. R2is on second, R3 is on third, one out. The batter hits a ground ball to the pitcher and R3 gets into a
rundown between home and third. R3 gets back to third safely but R2 is touching the base as well. The defense
tags both runners.

R3 is out because he was the first player tagged.

R3 is safe and R2 is out because R3 has the right to third base until he touches home.
R3 is out because once he headed for home the base belongs to the trail runner.

R2 is out because he was the second one tagged.
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23. The batting order is B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B6, B7, B8, and B9. With runners on first and second and two outs, B9
bats in the place of B5. B9 is the third out and the defensive team does not appeal.

a. B5is declared out and B6 leads off the next time the team comes to bat.
b. B5 leads off the next inning.
c. B1 will be the first hitter for this team in its next at-bat.




24. R1 on first, the batter bunts down the first base line. The ball has rolled into foul territory but hits a clump of
dirt in the running lane and changes direction and rolls back into fair territory. The BR inadvertently kicks it.

a. R1isout.
BR is out.
c. Foul ball.

25. You have an ambidextrous pitcher and a switch hitter at the plate. How do you handle their requests?

a. The pitcher must declare which side he is going to pitch from and then the hitter may choose the
side from which he wishes to bat.

b. If the pitcher declares he is going right-handed and the batter switches to the left side, the pitcher may
also switch back to his left arm.

c. If a pinch hitter replaces the batter during this at bat, the pitcher must stay pitching with the arm he
started the at-bat with.

d. The batter must declare which side he is going to bat from and then the pitcher must declare with which
arm he wishes to pitch.

26. R2, no outs. F2 attempts to return the ball to F1 but bumps the plate umpire and the ball sails over F1's head.
R2 breaks for third but is thrown out on a close play by F4.

a. R2is awarded third.
b. The play stands.
c. R2.is returned to second because of the umpire’s interference.

27. Obvious errors on the lineup card may be corrected before the game begins. The following are errors that
may be corrected at the plate conference:

Listing only eight players.

Listing two players with the same last name with neither listing a first name nor initial.
Listing the same player twice.

All of the above.
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28. R1 on first and R2 on second with no outs and a full count. As R1 and R2 attempt to steal, B3 hits a line drive
directly to the shortstop which is caught for the first out. F6 goes to tag R2 but R2 intentionally swats at F6's
glove, causing him to drop the ball. At the time, R1 was one step from second base and it would have been an
easy triple play. How should this play be ruled?

a. R1and R2 are out but B3 is safe because you only can award two outs during an intentionally
interference play.

b. The umpires can award three outs (R1, R2 and B3) because in the umpire’s judgment it would
have been a triple play without the intentional interference.

¢. The ball remains live and in play; if the dropped ball can be picked up in time and thrown to retire R1, so
be it.

29. R2 on second base and stealing on the 1-1 pitch, B7 swings and grazes the ball. The ball goes directly in the
catcher’s mitt. R2 is safe at third when F2's throw goes into left field. R2 scores easily on the play.

a. Play stands and the run scores because the ball remains live on a foul tip.
b. Live ball, R2 is only allowed one base on the foul tip, award B7 a strike.
c. Foul ball. Send R2 back to second base and the count is now 1-2.




30. Runner on first base only and the countis 1-1. F1 fails to come to a complete stop and is called for a balk.
F1 still delivers the pitch which hits B5 squarely in the back.

R1 is awarded second base and B5 award first base.

R1 is awarded second base and the count is now 2-1.

R1 is awarded second base and the count is still 1-1.

The offense has an option of taking the balk or the result of the play.
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