

TEAM WRESTLTING FINALS SEEDING COMMITTEE MINUTES

February 21, 2010

In May of 2008, the MHSAA Representative Council passed the following seeding policy for the Team Finals in Battle Creek:

"For the Team Final tournament, seed the top four teams in each division and draw the remaining four teams into the bracket for the Quarterfinal round of wrestling. This would be done by a seeding committee that will identify the top four teams in each division and will be seeded 1-4. Each team would submit a required team season summary form (record, opponents, scores, etc) and the committee would assess each team. In resolving issues, the seeding would be based on the following criteria:

- 1) Head-to-head competition; if tied, the most recent winner prevails.
- 2) Record against common opponents.
- 3) A team with an exceptional record vs. acknowledged strong opposition.
- 4) Majority decision of the seeding committee.

If a coach or athletic director is on the seeding committee and their team advances to the Quarterfinal round, that coach or athletic director would be replaced on the committee for that year."

The 2010 seeding committee met via conference call at 8:00 am on February 21. This year's committee members included the following individuals:

- D1- Shawn Murray, WR Coach at Sterling Heights HS
- D1- Shawn Veitch, WR Coach at Caledonia HS
- D1- Tom Flynn, AD at Groves HS
- D2- Scott Warriner, WR Coach at Eaton Rapids HS
- D2- Ray Arthur, WR Coach at Petoskey HS
- D2- Russ Mackenzie, AD & WR Coach at Madison Heights Lamphere HS
- D3- Pete Beck, AD at Hillsdale HS
- D3- Matt Turnbow, WR Coach at Goodrich HS
- D3- Bill Bonning, WR Coach at Big Rapids HS
- D4- Pat Lamb, AD & WR Coach at Rogers City HS
- D4- Dennis Paquette, WR Coach at Bangor HS
- D4- Mark Grant, WR Coach at Onaway HS

All committee members had received the dual-by-dual data for all 32 Team Finalists in advance of the conference call, and discussion took place using the published criteria in seeding the top four teams in each division 1-4. As the conversations took place, it was clear that the committee looked favorably upon those teams that wrestled a quality schedule against acknowledged strong opposition. When there was no head to head competition or common opponents, and the schools being considered for remaining seeds also had similar strength of schedule, the committee discussed other known data (e.g. number of Final qualifiers) prior to making the final seeding determination through a vote of the committee members.

The four unseeded schools in each division were then drawn into each bracket by a blind draw conducted by MHSAA staff and announced to committee members.

Pairings for the 2010 Team Finals will be aired on MHSAA.tv at 6:00 pm on Sunday, February 21, and will then be posted on the MHSAA website at 6:30 pm.